Noirs, rappeurs, queer, fièrEs et divers ! (partie 1)

vlcsnap-2013-12-19-22h39m51s176Sélection de morceaux (et de citations, de photos, de clips) de rappeurs afro-américains homo, gay, queer… Des années 90 à aujourd’hui.
On commence une première série de portraits avec Le1f, Lonnie Bee, House of Ladosha, Fly Young Red, Tori Fixx, Deep Dickollective et Tim’m T. West.

« Homo hop », « queer rap », « gaynsta rap », « dirty rap »… Instigateurs de nouveaux genres, et pas seulement musicaux, ils se font allègrement copier, piller, par des blancs, gay ou straight, pour certains plus célèbres… Certains travaillent dans l’ombre de stars mondiales, d’autres restent dans les sentiers de l’underground et de l’activisme.

DeepDickollectivesmall

 

Le1f

Le1f (prononcez « lif »), Khalif Diouf, est né en 1989, c’est un danseur, vogueur, rappeur et producteur du quartier de Manhattan à New-York. Il a étudié la danse moderne et le ballet. Ses chorégraphies s’inspirent du voguing et du sabar, danse du Sénégal. Il a produit des morceaux du groupe de hip-hop alternatif Das Racist, entre autres. Son style musical est assez débridé, éclectique et peu orthodoxe. Un son ambigu avec des ambiances lourdes, tantôt froides, tantôt hot. C’est l’inventeur du terme gaynsta.

DSC_0240-Le1f

« Wut« , 2012

« I feel more like an alien than a gay rapper. »

Le1f_Photoby_JakeMoore_1

« Mind body » (live Brooklyn 2012)

“I am gay, and I’m proud to be called a gay rapper, but it’s not gay rap. »

le1f1

« Spa day« , 2013

« Tree House is all these love songs over experimental trap beats. Every song on it is about love — I want people to have sex to it. »

Le1f2

 

Oils Ft Junglepussy

le1f

« Jack »

«Je me suis mis beaucoup de pression, je voulais dire au monde que j’existais. Et donc tout dire, tout ce que j’aimais ou ce qui m’agaçait. J’ai demandé des beats à des proches comme Nguzunguzu. Un jour j’étais au lit avec de la fièvre et j’ai commencé à rapper dessus. C’était un vrai tournant, je me suis rendu compte de mon potentiel de rappeur.»

Le1f_Bon_0855_RGB

« Yup »

le1fnb

« Sup« , 2014

 

Leif

ΩΩΩ

le1f-sxsw-portrait

« Lavandin »

Le1f-butt-Instagram

« Fresh (Dark york)« 

le1f_promo1

« Soda » ft Boosie, Liquid EP, 2012

« I’m butter like coco. I’m loco. »

DSC_0056-Le1f

Tha Whip ft Haleek Maul

« I make a neonazi kamikazi wanna fire bomb I’m da bomb diggity. Got your moms feelin me tell ya man chill on me hang loose like, literally. Wut is it ?… »

le1f3

« Pocahontas » ft. Kitty Pryde

« YO HOMOPHOBES: LAST TIME I CHECKED I WAS STILL A BROKE NIGGA LIVING IN THE PROJECTS, THO. EXPLAIN THAT ONE. »

le1fspa

« Hush Bb » 2013

Si certains se demandent pourquoi il y a des meufs à poil dans ses clips… Réfléchissez un peu… Ou demandez-vous pourquoi Mickaël Jackson s’est fait blanchir… Non ? toujours pas ? Alors, demandez à l’industrie du disque !

« You know i love you so much ! »

le1f

« Sweet Tea » ft Boody

« [gay rap]That’s not a genre. My goal is always to make songs that a gay dude or a straight dude can listen to and just think, This dude has swag. I get guys the way straight rappers get girls. I’m not preachy. The best thing a song can be called is good.”

Le1f2h

Boom, 2014

le1fburn

 

Lonnie Bee

Rappeur, comédien, chorégraphe de Washington DC. Un style de rap plus « classique » (certes pas old shool non plus !). And a fucking flow !

Il aborde le parcours face à sa propre homosexualité, la fierté gay et lesbienne, la riposte face à l’homophobie… Mais pas seulement !

lonniebee5

« Proud gay boy »

lonniebee6

Don’t try to fight me because I’m a faggy !

« Fight the GAYS »

lonniebee7

« Born gay »

lonniebee2

« They Coming For Me« 

 

lonniebee

« Mad boy »

lonniebee9

« Bum Bitch » (album Black Heart)

lonniebee8

« Not every faggy » (Graffiti on the rainbow)

lonniebee3

« Facebook Crush » (album Black Heart)

 

lonniebee4

« Rollin with my dykes »

lonnieking

Et pour finir,Queen Lonnie feat King Chinky Miyake…

« Let’s get it »

Et on en profite pour faire une dédicace à tous les TomBoy…

Chinky Miyake, JayDee Polo & Sonic « TomBoi Swagg« 

 

House of Ladosha

Collectif d’artistes new-yorkais qui tirent leur inspiration et leur « lifestyle » de la culture ball, de  la pratique du voguing (cf. film « Paris is burning« ) ou de la top modèle Naomie Campbell ! Hard As a Motherfucker !

LADOSHA-CRX633

« Total domination« 

« I wish I could be a superhero or supervillian. I celebrate fantasy and beauty through both sides of myself — as La’Fem and as Antonio. I like to explore the dark and gross. I’m a performer and crafter. I built myself — I’m my own creation. » (LaFem Ladosha)

LAFEM-LADOSHA-large570

« BMF Black Model Female »

« I think more rappers should just let go. Put on some pumps, honey, wear a dress—it really frees you, and will probably make your lyrics better.

img-house-of-ladosha_125221232854

« Burning Like Paris »

« House of Ladosha is simply my family here in New York. It’s my close friends and peers. The House is a collection of creative individuals and bad bitches — most of whom I’ve known for ten years. It’s started off as a ki ki and grew into something major, real and legit. I always knew it would be legend. My whole house eats ! »

ladosha

« There might be a lot of gay rappers, but its not all the same. We’re both gay and it is rap music, but it’s also interesting and the content is risqué. »

« Witches of Bushwick »

La culture des ballroom et du voguing, aujourd’hui répandue dans le monde entier, vient à l’origine des ghettos noirs. Les queer, homos, trans afro-américains subissant le racisme du milieu homosexuel et l’homophobie dans leur communauté, se regroupent et se défoulent ensemble, caricaturant et exagérant le virilisme, la féminité, les comportements des blancs riches ou des « voyous » noirs…

HouseOfLadosha_305x305

« We just wanna twerk, give looks, travel, meet cute boys, wear major clothes, and just do us. I don’t think that’s too much to ask. »

« Eat, Eat »

« It’s all about good music and individuality, which I think a lot of… not just rappers, but artists in general, lack. If you are that bitch and you actually do spit the hot, hot fire, then how could you ever be denied your props? Real recognize real! Because at the end of the day, being a straight black male doesn’t mean you are gonna be good at rapping, boop ! »

ladosha

« Keep raging keep dancing keep listening to music. Hopefully it brings joy to your life… »

House+of+Ladosha

« 9 Or 11 »

« The freaks come out at night and I come alive in the night time. Nightlife has been super important to my rage because I made a lot of connections and I was #OUTHERE going hard. »

House+of+Ladosha+houseofladosha1

 « New York Dream »

 ladosha2

Fly Young Red

Né en 1991 dans une famille chrétienne baptiste, il est originaire de la Nouvelle-Orléans qu’il quitte à l’âge de 14 ans après l’ouragan Katrina pour s’installer au Texas, à Houston. Son morceau Throw that boy pussy, dont le clip sort en 2014, provoque un mini-scandale et le fait connaître. Rapidement, la vidéo fait aussi des émules, des mecs nombreux qui deviennent adeptes du twerk, de la danse bounce, autrement dit de l’agitation de popotin… A la suite du buzz et de la controverse, il fait publiquement son coming-out. Des discussions sur les rappeurs ouvertement gays fleurissent à nouveau dans le milieu du hip-hop.

 fly-young-red-throw-that-boy-pussy

« I do this for Gay Men who like hip-hop ! »

Throw that boy pussy, 2013-2014

« When I go to gay clubs and I look around I see a lot of gay guys dancing to songs that are made by straight rappers talking about females… I think females are beautiful, but I don’t find them sexually attractive. »  « I like gay guys, so I made a song for gay guys to enjoy and dance to. I made it to play at gay clubs. »

fly-young-red2

« Throw that boy pussy » remixée version dance, et avec des « culs de blancs » !

 

fly-young-red6

« Shady Niggas »

« I was rapping with a group and like I said they were straight and I mean, I don’t know, like I backed up for a minute… »

fly-young-red

« Circles »

fly-young-red1

« White & Giuseppe »

fly-young-red4

 

« Partition » (remix from Beyoncé)

fly-young-red7

« Billy Jean Bad »

fly-young-red3

 

« Make me know it« , 2014

 

fly-young-red5

« Yass Bish »

 flyyoungred

« Nothing Different » EP Broke the Rap Game

 

Tori Fixx

L’un des premiers artistes hip-hop ouvertement gay. Ses premiers titres sortent en 1998. Il est aussi DJ, créateur de nombreuses musiques utilisées par des performers queer.

« There are probably a lot of [famous rappers] who are queer but afraid to come out. »

« Making music and writing was how I dealt with my sexuality issues. »

« Honestly, I’d say that being gay opens more doors for me nowadays than it closes them. »

TORIfixx

« Woof« , 2008

« I still talk about « hot boys » and « LGBT issues, » but I do it in a way so « anyone » can hear the songs and hopefully relate to them in their own way. »

Tori+Fixx2

« Mainstream checks » (live Minneapolis, festival hip-hop contre l’homophobie)

« LGBT hip-hop artists still haven’t been fully accepted, acknowledged or embraced by LGBT audiences yet. »

Tori Fixx blog

« Good Mornting« 

« Fuck the society ! »

« A gay man using the « f » word in front of straight folks but telling them not to use it is pointless to me (the same with the black community). I’m guilty of using both words a lot in the past hiding behind the excuse of, « I wanted to take the negative power from those words » and I’ve come to realize that-that was total bull****. It doesn’t make those words powerless, it merely keeps them in circulation amongst the human race along with the negativity attached to them so I avoid using them now. »

 Tori+Fixx

Deep dickcollective (D/DC)

Collectif hip-hop blackqueer californien actif à Oakland de 2000 à 2008. Du son old school, des lyrics offensifs… Ils sont influencé notamment par Marlon Riggs (cf. film Tongues Untied et l’émission et l’article de Cases rebelles).

En furent membres : Tim’m T. West, Juba Kalamka, Philip Atiba Goff, Ralowe Trinitrotoluene Ampu, Doug E., Dazie’R Grego, Jerry « JbRap » Brown, Marcus René Van, Leslie « Buttaflysoul » Taylor, Soulnubian, Solas B Lalgee, Baraka Noel.

Faisant face à une certaine résistance, ils questionnent masculinité, race, identité queer dans une perspective déconstructionniste.

Deep+Dickollective

« We out »

« For Colored Boys »

deep-dickollective

« Mariposa Prelube« , 2001

« Homo-hop challenges a lot of assumptions about who hip-hop is for and who it belongs to. I’m proud to disrupt those notions. D/DC has the potential to bring communities together that don’t usually operate with each other. At our last show we had punks, hetero b-boys, bourgeois black men, everything. »(Tim’m T West)

500x500

« Protonegroes theme »

Deep+Dickollective2

« I Am »

deepdc

« Straighttrippin » 2003

« Now let me stop rhymin’ and go find my boyfriend/ Or a lesbian. »

 

Tim’m West

Né en 1972, originaire de l’Arkansas, il a du passé par le scoutisme, le christianisme mormon…  C’est un des membres fondateurs du crew Deep Dickollective. Précurseurs du queer hip-hop, du « homo hop »,  fin des années 90, alors que l’expression « no homo » est à la mode dans le rap. Il est aussi poète, auteur, activiste, éducateur, performer… Il s’engage dans la prévention du SIDA auprès des populations gays noires et latinos.

Ses morceaux allient soul, Rn’B, hip-hop.

jukal

Forgiven, 2013

« They know I love them. They know I care about them, that I want them to thrive, that I hate a lot of the racism they have to face in Boystown, that I hate a lot of the homophobia they have to face in their own neighborhoods on the south and west sides. »

Tim_m_West

« After midnight »

« Black gay identity can be political. It can be masculine. It can be a lot of different things. »

Tim_m_West2

« News »

Timm-West-131

Lullaby ft Nhojj

« People forget, you had ACT UP and stuff in San Francisco, but you also had Black Panthers. »

timm-west-pressphoto-03

A Real Man ft Quentin Adams

Tim_m_West-teaser

Fly Brotha

[A suivre…]

Ce contenu a été publié dans Dépixellisés - Photo, Musique dép, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.